III SC4 Network Symposium

III International Symposium on Supply Chain 4.0:
Challenges and Opportunities of Digital Transformation, Intelligent Manufacturing and Supply Chain Management 4.0

October 24-28th, 2019, Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Joint-organized by
SC4 (Collaborative Research Network on Supply Chain 4.0),
Conexus Indiana www.conexusindiana.com, and
Butler University, Lacy School of Business www.butler.edu/lacyschool


Intelligent Operations and Supply Chain Management

  Industry 4.0

  Emerging business models, Servitization

  Emerging Technologies

  Smart Factories, Logistics, Business, and Organizations

  Digital transformation

  And related topics.



Foster Collaboration among industry and academic partners

   Promote and disseminate research works in the area

   Plan other collaborative activities among members and non-members of the SC4 Network      

   Advance 4.0 Industrial pratices in Indiana and beyond

Types of Manuscripts 

We accept manuscripts comprising ongoing studies or papers presenting results of theoretical or applied research covering one of the topics mentioned above.

All full submissions will be double blind and peer reviewed and evaluated based on originality, technical and/or research content/depth, correctness, relevance to the conference, contributions, and readability.

Please, note that the initial submission is a structured abstract of up to 500 words.

Next, authors of all accepted abstracts must choose one of the submission options:

Full Paper: up to 2500-5000 words;

Abstract: up to 1000 words.

Best Paper Award 
The purpose of Best Paper Award is to recognize and reward outstanding scientific or professional contributions.

All accepted papers will be published on the Proceedings of the III International Symposium on Supply Chain 4.0 (ISSN: 2594-8342). 
Selected manuscripts will be invited to submit a full-paper to some selected scientific journals.

Download the full version of  ISSC4 – 2019 – Call for Papers

Submissions and Important Dates

 Initial submission (Abstract up to 500 words – for all authors): June 16th  

 Notification of Acceptance: July 1st  

 Full Paper (2500-5000 words) or Final Abstract Submissions (500 words):  July 14th (Authors do not desire to submit a full paper, can keep their original or revised abstract).

Final acceptance and comments from reviewers: August 18th

 End of early registration: September 1st

 End of regular registration: October 24th

Registration – August 1st – August 31st 

Conference – September 3rd – September 4th 

Submission language: English

All author must to submit a structured abstract of up to 250 words.

Summarized Program

Thursday, October 24th (Check-in and Conexus Indiana Case Competition)

  • Participants check-in
  • Student Case Competition
  • Executive dinner for the Student Case Competition 

Friday, October 25th (Morning Hilton Downtown, Afternoon LSB Butler University, Evening TBD)

  • Career Fair
  • Award Luncheon & Keynote Speaker
  • Open Ceremony
  • Round Table 
  • Dinner + Keynote Speaker

Saturday, October 26th (All day at LSB Butler)

  • Parallel Sections (paper presentations)
  • Social Activities

Sunday, October 27th(All day at LSB Butler)

  • Parallel Sections (paper presentations)
  • SC4 Network meeting
  • Closing Ceremony

Monday, October 28th (Company visits)

  • Industrial Day (visit to global companies in Indianapolis area)

Detailed Program (NEW)

Day 1 (Sept 3rd)

Day 2 (Sept. 4th)

Online Transmissions (NEW)

We will make use of videoconferences (Hangout or Zoom) to allow participants to be virtually present, in case physical presence is not possible in Indiana.

For more information, please consult the detailed programs above for Day 1 and Day 2


Early registration: US$ 150,00 (until September 1st).

Regular registration: US$ 250,00 (until October 24th ).

Register here! 

(Registration Process in Portuguese, but consult the Instructions in English to register at the ISSC4)

Organizing Committee

Janaina (Jane) Siegler (chair)

Eduardo Zancul

Paulo Sérgio de Arruda Ignácio

Francisco I. Giocondo César

Rui Yoshino

Scientific Committee

Luis Antonio De Santa-Eulalia (chair)

Veronica de Paula

Elaine Mosconi

Fabiano Armellini

Moacir Godinho Filho

Kleber Espôsto

Francesco Facchin

Paulo Ignácio

Sven Packmhor

Izabela Simon Rampasso

Cristiane Biazzin

Juliana Mendes

Rosley Anholon

Elias Ribeiro da Silva

Best Paper Award Committee

Fabiano Armellini (chair)

Moacir Godinho Filho

Paulo Ignácio

Local Organizing Committee

Janaina (Jane) Siegler (chair)

Christian Santiago

Barry King, Matthew Caito

Mauricio Melgarejo

Michael Schmierer


Lacy School of Business, Butler University


Hilton Downtown


While it is usually possible to find a hotel on short notice, it is not recommended to wait to book hotel rooms.

There are a few hotels near the conference venue.